top of page
Search
  • Sasha

How To Build Lessons Plans Using the Science of Reading Part I

Updated: Mar 19, 2021





This is my schema for teaching reading and spelling of individual words.

When I am lesson planning and teaching, I begin on the left-hand side of the page and move horizontally through teaching letters and their sounds, Phonology, spelling patterns, Orthography, syllable types and morphemes, Morphology.


Throughout my lessons, from my first lesson with learners to the last, I am talking about the history and evolution of the English language and what other languages letters and words evolved from.


Assessment permeates all lessons – it tells me what my students know and don’t know, what they have or have not learned and retained over time.


Every lesson plan I make includes reading and spelling of words, and fluency exercises to apply what I have taught to develop automaticity.


Feedback leads my students to become independent, thoughtful learners. This skill set is integral to all the other work we do.


71 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page